Milestones

My family is experiencing a sequence of life milestones. It is exciting and stressful all at the same time. I can’t help but reflect over the last 20-25 years as we are facing major life changes.

Today, Friday, September 13, 2013(seems like an unlucky date), my son Luke completed his coursework to be a sound engineer!  Jason and I are so proud of him! He has worked extremely hard, long hours, and through stressful proficiency exams.  He has learned all aspects of the sound recording world.  His training included live sound, studio recording and post production editing, T.V. and movie sound effects/voice overs, and video games audio.  I have enjoyed listening to Jason and Luke’s conversations about plugins and compression, even though I have no idea what they are talking about. Jason also likes to mix music and Luke has helped him with some of his original songs and recordings.  I don’t think Luke realizes how knowledgable he has become.

Luke working in the recording studio.

Luke working in the recording studio.

Luke working on a recording project.

Luke working on a recording project.

Our daughter, Tess, has also faced a milestone.  She moved into her own place for her senior year of university! She lived away from home last year when she was in the Disney College Program, but this is the first time she found her own place and is paying her own rent and utilities, and bought her own furniture.  I have to admit that I love the fact that she is still close enough to come home for dinner or just to hang out.  I don’t think that I will have that luxury a year from now. She is such a talented journalist, I’m sure she will be picking up and moving to where incredible job opportunities take her.

Tessa's new place/ Elijah is putting together some of her new furniture.

Tessa’s new place/ Elijah is putting together some of her new furniture.

I am in awe of the two mature, kind, thoughtful, adults I call my children. They have been a joy to raise and watch grow.  I am super excited to see what their futures have in store for them.

Love them!

Love them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aside | This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Milestones

  1. jman1283 says:

    Hi Dana.
    I really like your blog! Especially this latest post.

  2. aviets says:

    Being proud of your children is the best thing in the world! I enjoyed reading about them.
    -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

  3. Jeri Foster says:

    Great kids come from great parents! So proud of Tess and Luke! Their futures look bright.

Leave a Reply

